My body is not your entitlement

by onyinyechio

Honestly, this living in Nigeria wahala get as e be. 
I read this morning about some high school boys chasing down and raping high school girls because they finished their final exams. ???????

I’ll insert pictures of the story at the end of this post but my heart broke. 

The topic of sexual assault is very touchy with me and honestly, I couldn’t breathe for a while. 

These boys saw the girls as objects, felt entitled to their bodies and decided to take.

They made it a sport to be watched and cheered for by passers by who stood, recording on their phones doing nothing to help these girls. 

Not only are they rapists, 

They are murderers- killing the spirits of young women 

They are thieves- stealing the potential, the happiness, the destiny of young women 

And these young girls will go on to be care takers of children at some point in their lives 

And some of them will rape and molest other children 

And the cycle will continue. 

How will these rapists/murderers/thieves be caught?

How many will be caught? 

What will happen if they are caught? 

We, as a society, will bury it. 

No consequences. 

This is what we teach the male child.
For these young girls, there is no hope. 

All they do is pray and hide. 
Fear of stigma 

Fear of confrontation 

Fear of man 

I often want to just run around yelling “MY BODY IS NOT YOUR ENTITLEMENT”

“I AM A PERSON TOO”

“I WAS NOT CREATED FOR YOUR PLEASURE, YOUR OWNERSHIP OR POSSESSION”

And when all the yelling gets me nothing in this society, I just want to beg: 

“DO NOT TAKE MY DIGNITY SIMPLY BECAUSE YOU CAN” please. 







